AHL Realignment Moves IceCaps to North Division


IceCaps join new division with arch-rival Toronto

Ottawa, Vancouver affiliates among teams in North Division


St. John’s IceCaps Media Release

ST. JOHN’S, NL. – The St. John’s IceCaps – proud new American Hockey League affiliate of the Montreal Canadiens – will move to a newly-formed division next season which includes natural rival, the Toronto Marlies.

As part of league realignment announced by the AHL today in Chicago, the IceCaps will now play in the North Division of the Eastern Conference alongside the Marlies (Toronto Maple Leafs), Binghamton Senators (Ottawa Senators), Utica Comets (Vancouver Canucks), Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres), Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay Lightning) and Albany Devils (New Jersey Devils).

In their previous four seasons, the IceCaps competed in the Atlantic Division with the Portland Pirates, Worcester Sharks, Providence Bruins and Manchester Monarchs.

“We’re thrilled to be part of this new AHL division,” said IceCaps COO and Governor Glenn Stanford. “The IceCaps rivalries with the Marlies and Senators will become some of the most heated in the league, as they currently are with the respective parent clubs. And I’m sure rivalries with our other new division-mates will develop once the season gets underway. St. John’s fans will also get their first-ever glimpse of teams like Rochester and Utica next season. Overall, a great day to be an IceCaps fan.”

IceCaps Season tickets can be purchased in person at the Mile One Centre box office (noon-5 p.m.), by phone at 709-576-7657 (9:30 a.m.-5 p.m.), or online at www.mileonecentre.com


Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)
Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)
Hershey Bears (WSH)
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (PHI)
Portland Pirates (FLA)
Providence Bruins (BOS)
Springfield Falcons (ARI)
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

North Division
Albany Devils (NJ)
Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Rochester Americans (BUF)
St. John’s IceCaps (MTL)
Syracuse Crunch (TB)
Toronto Marlies (TOR)
Utica Comets (VAN)

Western Conference

Central Division
Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
Chicago Wolves (STL)
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)
Iowa Wild (MIN)
Lake Erie Monsters (CBJ)
Manitoba Moose (WPG)
Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Rockford IceHogs (CHI)

Pacific Division
Bakersfield Condors (EDM)
Ontario Reign (LA)
San Antonio Rampage (COL)
San Diego Gulls (ANA)
San Jose Barracuda (SJ)
Stockton Heat (CGY)
Texas Stars (DAL)

The format for the 2016 Calder Cup Playoffs will be finalized by the Board of Governors at its Annual Meeting in Hilton Head Island, S.C., July 6-9, and the complete playing schedule for the 2015-16 regular season, which begins Oct. 9, will be announced later this summer.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here