Canadiens’ Prospects to Represent at World Junior Hockey Championship


MONTREAL, QC.–All three representatives of the Montreal Canadiens selected to take part in Team Canada’s National Junior Selection Camp have made the cut. They will be heading to the 2012 World Junior Hockey Championship in Edmonton and Calgary as part of
Team Canada’s 22-man roster, finalized this morning by head coach Don Hay and Kevin Predergast, head scout of Hockey Canada.

Michaël Bournival didn't see his name in the list of cuts this year.

Michaël Bournival, who was the last cut last year, is on the squad, as well as Canadiens’ training camp fan-favourite Brendan Gallagher and 2011 1st rounder Nathan Beaulieu.

Bournival and Beaulieu are also among the four QMJHL representatives for the squad.  The others are the Saint John Sea Dogs’ Jonathan Huberdeau, selected third overall in this year’s draft by the Florida Panthers, and the Moncton Wildcats’ Brandon Gormley, Phoenix’s 1st rounder from 2010.

The exhibition schedule gets underway next week with games in Calgary (Canada-Finland on Monday, December 19), Red Deer (Canada-Switzerland on Thursday, December 22) and Edmonton (Canada-Sweden on Friday, December 23).

Jarred Tinordi and Daniel Přibyl are still on the United States’ and Czech junior squads respectively, but in their case, final cuts have yet to be formally announced.


Mark Visentin – Niagara (OHL)/PHX 2010
Scott Wedgewood – Plymouth (OHL)/NJ 2010

Nathan Beaulieu – Saint John (QMJHL)/MTL 2011
Brandon Gormley – Moncton (QMJHL)/PHX 2010
Dougie Hamilton – Niagara (OHL)/BOS 2011
Scott Harrington – London (OHL)/PIT 2011
Ryan Murray – Everett (WHL)/2012 eligible
Jamie Oleksiak – Northeastern (NCAA)/DAL 2011
Mark Pysyk – Edmonton (WHL)/BUF 2010

Michaël Bournival – Shawinigan (QMJHL)/COL 2010 – trade to MTL
Brett Connolly – Tampa Bay (NHL)
Brendan Gallagher – Vancouver (WHL)/MTL 2010
Freddie Hamilton – Niagara (OHL)/SJ 2010
Quinton Howden – Moose Jaw (WHL)/FLA 2010
Jonathan Huberdeau – Saint John (QMJHL)/FLA 2011
Boone Jenner – Oshawa (OHL)/CBJ 2011
Tanner Pearson – Barrie (OHL)/2012 eligible
Mark Scheifele – Barrie (OHL)/WPG 2011
Jaden Schwartz – Colorado College (WCHA)/STL 2010
Devante Smith-Pelley – Anaheim Ducks (NHL)
Mark Stone – Brandon (WHL)/OTT 2010
Ryan Strome – Niagara (OHL)/NYI 2011


Monday, December 19, 2011
9:00 PM EST CAN – FIN Calgary, AB
Tuesday, December 20, 2011
9:00 PM EST USA – RUS Enmax Centrium Red Deer, AB
9:00 PM EST CZE – LAT Okotoks Centennial Centre Okotoks, AB
9:30 PM EST SWE – DEN Olds Sportsplex Olds, AB
Wednesday, December 21, 2011
9:00 PM EST SVK – FIN WinSport – Rink A Calgary, AB
9:30 PM EST USA – SUI Edgeworth Centre Camrose, AB
Thursday, December 22, 2011
9:00 PM EST CAN – SUI Enmax Centrium Red Deer, AB
9:00 PM EST LAT – DEN Centennial Regional Arena Brooks, AB
9:00 PM EST RUS – CZE Enmax Centre Lethbridge, AB
Friday, December 23, 2011
9:30 PM EST CAN – SWE Rexall Place Edmonton, AB
9:00 PM EST USA – SVK Centennial Place Three Hills, AB



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here