WJC: Team Canada Roster Revealed


Louis Leblanc will be the lone prospect representing the Montreal Canadiens on Team Canada at this year’s World Junior Hockey Championship.  The final wave of cuts, announced Wednesday, includes recently acquired Michaël Bournival, who will return to his junior team in Shawinigan.

Leblanc joins fellow QMJHL forward Sean Couturier of Drummondville, blueliner Simon Després of Saint John, and netminder Olivier Roy of Acadie-Bathurst on the final roster for the national squad.

Photo: RDS

The 22 players who will be heading to Buffalo are the following:

Olivier  Roy, Mark Visentin

Ryan Ellis, Calvin de Haan, Jared Cowen, Erik Gudbranson, Tyson Barrie, Simon Després, Dylan Olsen.

Carter Ashton, Brett Connolly, Marcus Foligno, Curtis Hamilton, Sean Couturier, Louis Leblanc, Jaden Schwartz, Brayden Schenn, Casey Cizikas, Cody Eakin, Quinton Howden, Ryan Johansen, Zack Kassian.

Team Canada will continue to train in Toronto before moving on to Niagara Falls for the weekend.  They will play their first pre-competition game against Switzerland at the General Motors Centre of Oshawa on Monday night before returning to the Ontario capital to face Sweden at the Air Canada Centre the following night.  Kitchener Memorial Auditorium will be the next to host the Canadians as they take on Finland next Thursday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here