Zach Fucale Earns IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year Award

(Photo courtesy of St. John's IceCaps)

Fucale Named IceCaps’ IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year

(Photo courtesy of St. John's IceCaps)
(Photo courtesy of St. John’s IceCaps)

St. John’s IceCaps Media Release

ST. JOHN’S, NL (March 31, 2016) – The St. John’s IceCaps are proud to announce that goaltender Zach Fucale has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the St. John’s community during the 2015-16 season.

This past season, Fucale has been a community leader for the IceCaps organization.  He has given up countless hours of his personal time to attend team-related events and ensure fans have the opportunity to get an autograph, a picture or a few special moments with him.  Fucale has been a favourite at these events with his signature positive, upbeat attitude when interacting with young people and their parents.

Throughout the season, Fucale has been a team leader in community appearances – taking on this role as a rookie – making his accomplishments and dedication even more impressive.  While continuing to grow as a player and learning to be a professional, the 20-year-old has not lost sight of the importance of giving back.

Education is a pillar of the IceCaps’ community outreach. Fucale has visited schools assisting with reading programs, talking about the importance of respecting others and allowing the children to learn more about his life.  When Fucale walks into a school he shows a genuine interest in what the students are doing, their work and their interests.

The IceCaps provide fans with different game-night experiences throughout the season.  When a fan is close to the players, on the bench for warm-up or something similar, Fucale will always take a moment to say hello, provide a high five to a young child or give away a stick or puck.  These may be small gestures, but create life-long memories for young people and their families.  These moments cement relationships with fans and assist in building a connection between IceCaps players and our community.

Fucale embodies everything that the IceCaps organization is about.   He is an ambassador for the team, the city of St. John’s and the entire province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Zach Fucale is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2015-16 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League at a later date.

Courtesy of the AHL, here is the complete list of the league’s IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards:

Dan Kelly, Albany Devils (3rd-time winner)
Matthew Ford, Bakersfield Condors (2nd)
Zack Stortini, Binghamton Senators (2nd)
Matt Carkner, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (6th)
Kyle Hagel, Charlotte Checkers (6th)
Pat Cannone, Chicago Wolves (1st)
Tom McCollum, Grand Rapids Griffins (3rd)
Chris Summers, Hartford Wolf Pack (1st)
Nathan Walker, Hershey Bears (1st)
Kurtis Gabriel, Iowa Wild (1st)
Ryan Craig, Lake Erie Monsters (2nd)
Davis Drewiske, Lehigh Valley Phantoms (3rd)
Josh Morrissey, Manitoba Moose (1st)
Jimmy Oligny, Milwaukee Admirals (1st)
Sean Backman, Ontario Reign (1st)
Shane Harper, Portland Pirates (2nd)
Brandon DeFazio, Providence Bruins (4th)
Patrick Kaleta, Rochester Americans (2nd)
Michael Leighton, Rockford IceHogs (1st)
Zach Fucale, St. John’s IceCaps (1st)
Ben Street, San Antonio Rampage (1st)
Joe Piskula, San Diego Gulls (1st)
Ryan Carpenter, San Jose Barracuda (1st)
Domenic Monardo, Springfield Falcons (1st)
Bryce Van Brabant, Stockton Heat (1st)
Mike Angelidis, Syracuse Crunch (1st)
Derek Hulak, Texas Stars (2nd)
Andrew Campbell, Toronto Marlies (4th)
Carter Bancks, Utica Comets (2nd)
Will O’Neill, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (2nd)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here